Keep track of key

I have created a script to pull incoming records to a database and post them to another dbase via REST. I have everything working, however I have one hurdle. The source table is very large and I’d like to simply query only new records since the last run of the script. How can I keep track of either the timestamp I ran the last query or the last key number so I can only get the new records?

I don’t see a way to assign a “global variable” or something of the type that could hold this info. The only other solution that seems possible is to write this info into a file and read it back, but I don’t see how to do this either.

I am very new to the product and absolutely love it so far, but I may just be missing a very fundamental function here.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Linx does not have a concept like global variables. Linx Services e.g. TimerService, are the only Linx components that can keep state outside of process execution.

You will need to keep your state in persistent storage like a file, database, s3 bucket etc. Here is a sample of keeping the last id in a file. The process

1. Reads the last saved id from a text file using the TextFileRead function.
  2. Creates a variable that stores the last id read from the database using an Integer type.
  3. Reads the database referring to the last saved id to limit the records returned.
  4. Sets the last id variable to keep track of the last id processed.
  5. When finished, saves the last id to file using a TextFileWrite.

Some screenshots to illustrate:

1.Read the last saved id from a text file using the TextFileRead function.

2.Create a variable that stores the last id read from the database using an Integer type.

3.Read the database referring to the last saved id to limit the records returned.

4.Set the last id variable to keep track of the last id processed.

5.Saves the last id to file using a TextFileWrite.

Another option